Home > Change, Future, Personal, Self / Love, Social Intelligence > A process of Personal Transformation

A process of Personal Transformation

I had been aware for some time of my limiting thoughts, emotional blocks and strange behaviours –  these are basically hangovers from our past, our previous learned responses which had outlived their usefulness to the person we might wish to be …. for me they were stopping me taking a leap … however the strange part is that I had the answer within me .. what I needed to do was repeat a process which I had carried out once before –  for when you think about it,  everything in life is a process, in this case to confront these behaviours which were now irrelevant to my life and renew myself … in a way to renounce who and what I was, and allow myself the freedom to introduce myself to what next evolution of me … the same process is available for everyone, from that awareness, we eventually come to the Acceptance that action is needed … then when we are ready we do take action.

Twenty years ago, I went through a period of intense personal change – looking back now, the program was based on the original  12 step program .. this is a proven program, which has been going since 1935 … in my case I am not driven by the need to stop drinking, but by the need to use the Transformational 12 steps program to bring around personal change … to change the way I react – so that basically I don’t .. in fact to change my default response to pause and reflection before I respond – giving me that time to consider the impact of my words and deeds on others, but also our own evolution … in other words to respond from strength, instead of reacting from weakness –   for me the outcome made me whole –  after the completion of the program, I am content, with me … however the work doesn’t stop there, for now on it is also a continual process of self assessment –  in this occasion , I knew it was time, I was committed to change, in fact, I had been looking for a way to make it happen since April … and just before this time, I felt in darkness, always feeling my way forward, metaphorically falling over stuff .. this stuff was my past, my beliefs, my history, my limitations.

Note before starting … you need to be committed to this course of action without any reservation … if you are not committed, it won’t work .. you can’t fake it … you need to follow the steps, some are not easy because they can be a very confronting process –   have the courage and belief in the process to follow where they lead, for if you want your future to be different from your today … it is journey you must take ..  you might use the analogy that the process, is almost a low level reformat of the way we look at life … it is equivalent to a process of clean up and clean out — its worth it,  let me assure you.

I went to a local AA meeting, just to feel the atmosphere .. to meet and talk to the people who had successfully come through the program .. a strength, a compassion, but an overall humbleness from everyone who had completed the program was all I felt … I went ahead with the steps in order, going through each until I was absolutely happy that I was totally committed to it –  for me, as I was so committed to change and my previous experience with the program, it was not as difficult as I imagined, for I had been ready for such a process since the beginning of 2013 … note: –  you have to want to do it .. I might add doesn’t magically rid your personality of these reactions to stimulus, what it does is that it makes you very aware of your personal triggers to make reactions and behaviours and allows you to confront them and once you have there is no fear,  there is just contentment, happiness, love an a strength – a wish to help others –  remember we all have these demons at sometime during our path, our journey.

I believed I needed to become less reactive to stimulus .. to be mindful, present in the moment, to forgive and forget the past hurts and failures .. to bring into the present only the learning, my goal was to live life mindfully, part of which means we need to stay present .. for that is the only place where anything is created … this also means letting go of expectations (investing in them anyway), whatever they are, to be open to real abundance through love –  to be open to the infinity of the Universe through love and abundance.  I came to the realisation that when we invest in expectations we are by the very nature, creating illusions as these events are in the future, they haven’t happened yet, so we are in fact setting ourselves up for disappointment.

It took me a while to write about this, as I completed these steps back in October 2013 … to have the support of your family is a big plus, but one thing is so true, this process is something we have to do for ourselves and by ourselves  … for that is where change must come from … the commitment to the self, and to the future self …. Good Luck!

If you feel the need, from the awareness of self, look at the process, if you need any help … please write … I will help how I can.

Since this, I have had some realizations that came from unblocking my limitations, incredible clarity has come …all this was like breaking through the shell if you like that enclosed my understanding … now I guess I am within a bigger shell … one day I will push through those limitations … Quite soon I will do another post of the process of learning to live mindfully.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

