Home > Uncategorized > Microsoft Outlook 2011 for Mac – a poor experience!

Microsoft Outlook 2011 for Mac – a poor experience!

This is a change from my usual fare … however I felt that this was worth a mention. Recently my Windows laptop started to give trouble … it started to overheat and despite having it serviced and likely areas of concern checked and repaired (like heat sinking, fans etc) no cause could be identified, hence it was time to consider a replacement. I was curious when I investigated options, and thought that I would experiment, hence I bought a MacBook Pro … the reason being that my son has one and has always sworn by it .. I always like to challenge myself, so an experiment had begun.

Overall the Mac is a revelation, it is well integrated, more so than the equivalent Windows device.

I installed much of the same equivalent software from Windows and secured Microsoft Office 2011 for Mac … although Excel and Word appear to work as expected … Outlook 2011 for Mac is a disaster … it is a very poor facsimile of the equivalent Windows Product… I wished they had not called it Outlook, because then I would not have installed it.

It has almost none of the features of the Windows version, it is over-priced for it is just a very simple unsophisticated email client, even looking forward to the new Outlook 2016 offering it doesn’t seem to be much of an improvement, so the outcome for me, is that it has damaged the brand that is Microsoft severely.

So now I am looking for a halfway decent email client to replace it … though not much luck so far.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 25, 2015 at 11:31 am

    Totally agree. Pls post when you find a good replacement.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

